Janitta1's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Evaluation May 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — janitta1 @ 8:45 am

Images/sideshow

I think the overall finishing product is quite effective the building up of layers makes the viewer feel as if they are watching the dream develop. I choose not to use transitions between each image as I did not think they were needed, the cut shots to the next image also represent the fact that the dream is a nightmare that their mind is not at ease. However, I did create some fade in transitions using the levels on opacity. I use a fade in transition on text, colour, or an image of a person, things I wanted to emphasis in the composition, to show that the dream is going to a new level.

Problems

I had problems with sizing after I had finished my compositions in Photoshop I was made aware that  2 of my images where designed using the wrong format PAL D1/DV widescreen, I then had to transfer all of my different layers to a PAL D1/DV preset, this was extremely time consuming trying to position everything in the correct place. One of my designs was smaller than the PAL D1/DV preset, I only realised this when I was place my images in After Effects and it didn’t fit, so I simply scaled it up to fit. I was very weary of the image pixelating, however it still remained to a high quality. I also did a portrait PAL D1/DV, however this would not fit into my side show composition as the preset is PAL D1/DV which is horizontal. To get around this I just scaled down my image and added another background behind to fill the gaps.

Sound track

I believe that the sound track works very well with the images creating a dreamlike feel to the composition, the poems intensify the narrative. The dramatic dreamlike music creates an impact on the the viewer. The sound track is said by one girl, yet there is different people in the images this is because it is one girls worries that manifest in her dreams, however this girl has a connection to all the different people in the images as they to share the same worries and nightmare.

Problems

I was unable to edit both my sound and images in the same software, so it was difficult for me to edit the dialogue so that the sound matched the correct images. To get around this I made a time line so I knew were the sound would be positioned on the soundtrack.

finishing times
success – 11:20 seconds
debt- 28;22 seconds
identity – 43:24 seconds
belonging – 59:05 seconss
friendship – 1:23:04
durations
success 0- 11;20
debt 11:20-28:22
identity 28:22-43:24
Belonging 43:24-59:05
frindship 59:05-1:23:04

finishing times

success – 11:20 secondsdebt- 28;22 secondsidentity – 43:24 secondsbelonging – 59:05 seconssfriendship – 1:23:04
durations
success 0- 11;20
debt 11:20-28:22
identity 28:22-43:24
Belonging 43:24-59:05
frindship 59:05-1:23:04
I had to cut some of the dialogue of the poems as it exceeded the time limit of which correlated with the image I had to cut in such away that it sounded like complete poem.

 

Leave a comment